Hi Ann!
I found the boys in the Petfinder Classifieds today, and sent the info to the chkitty club..
Fingers and paws crossed!
Daily Kitten Chat Forum » General Chat
For Anncetera2
(15 posts)-
Thank you so much, Sullis!!!
Posted 3 years ago by anncetera2 #
-
Hey, Sullis... here's an example of the kind of email I've received at that email account set up for Otto & Ellis. I've reported them as spam and deleted them. Some of them are better in terms of grammar, etc. but every single one of them is addressed to an email account I have no familiarity with; that's one big reason I don't answer. (I figure it's spoofed.)
Oh, and I figure this is just run-of-the-mill spam, rather than bunchers.
from coke marley <cokemarley4@gmail.com>
to aeisfeldlegacyendeavors@msn.com
date Mon, Oct 6, 2008 at 8:30 PM
subject I WILL LIKE TO ADOPT YOUR PET
mailed-by gmail.comhide details 8:30 PM (36 minutes ago)
Hello,
With sound of good health My name is professor coke marley and my
lovely wife astro we are both agreed to adopt your pet which we found on a
site called [petfinder.com] I am a Professor and As a Bristish Fossils
hunter, Having discovered lots of Dinasaurs fossil such as Dinosaurs
Megalosaurus ,Oviraptor, Pinacosaurus, Saurornithoides,
Velociraptor,plesiosaur, Ichthyosaurus etc. i am currently working with
British Fossil hunters team on late 1880's Imperial Dinosaur Fossil
Research, we reside in Florida now. my wife take good care of my 7 years
old daughter and care for our lost pet while am away. our family have a good
passion for animals , since the lost of my pet my daughter has been so
lonely eventhough i am at home with her, because she always want to see
booster by her side, now her birthday is on the way, thats why we are both
looking for a pet to adot for her again to compensate her and to make her
happy .. please let me know if your pet is still available for adoption and
the last adoption fee and his present condition, we are ready to pay any
amount to have your pet in our family, the money for the pet is not our
problem but we need pet love in our family, we can assure you the pet's
safety in our home because..my house was wood fence about 10.87ft high.As regard that shipping of the pet,i want you to leave that for me because
i have a reliable and competent pet mover that will take good care of that
properly and come to your door step for the pick up please let me hear from
you asap. ....I will be sending you a cashier's check please get back to me
asap so that i can go ahead in sending you payent after you might have
agreed to let us adopt your pet. thanks for your help. best regard.Prof coke marley.
Posted 3 years ago by anncetera2 #
-
CW, I don't think that happens. I think they try to scam the pet owner out of their credit card information, after convincing the owner that they need to help pay for the transportation costs.
Or it could be this scam:
Posted 3 years ago by anncetera2 #
-
Sounds fishy. He's a professor? I also agree with CW.
Posted 3 years ago by Renee in Arkansas #
-
Seriously, I don't think they ever pick up the pet. That would actually be a cost. Scammers don't actually want to spend money; their entire goal is to extract money from their mark.
Worst case scenario would be the pet gets picked up by a buncher. For a thorough explanation of why one should never offer a pet "free to a good home," see:
Posted 3 years ago by anncetera2 #
-
No, there are no graphically disturbing photos.
Posted 3 years ago by anncetera2 #
-
The description alone is disturbing enough.
Oh, and CW? I found something that I think you should see... it reminds me of your gravatar in a most amusing way.
Scroll down, and you'll see My Little Catwoman:
Posted 3 years ago by anncetera2 #
-
Thought you might!
Posted 3 years ago by anncetera2 #
-
Ann, that is just horrible!! That kind of stuff makes me crazy; do people just scan the classifieds and send out these weird emails??
Oh, and I checked the chkitty site...anyone can read the site, but I believe in order to read or post messages, you must be a registered member....Isn't it weird that in all(or most) of these spam messages, the grammar or spelling is off? I just got one telling me I won the powerball lottery and they've been trying to track me down.....yeah, right!!!!
-
Sullis, I believe there's software out there that can scan web pages and 'harvest' any email addresses that occur on the page. These harvested email addresses are put into a list, and the list is sold. The reason I usually list an email in the format FosterKittiesKC at gmail dot com is an attempt at thwarting some of the simpler harvesting programs.
Now, that doesn't thwart actual bunchers. Bunchers scan the classifieds, Craigslist, Freecycle, etc. for communities, looking for ads that indicate free to a good home, or where there's only a nominal fee for the pet.
Regarding the spam, it's not so weird when you stop to consider that if the people running these small-scale scams are overseas, it's very hard to prosecute successfully. If they're overseas, other than a handful of countries, the chances are good that English is not their first language. The email I showed you looks like something that's just been run through a translation program like Babelfish.
Posted 3 years ago by anncetera2 #
Reply
You must log in to post.